Week14 – Inside a Yurt


2 – 8 April ’11

Another glorious autumn afternoon, so we took Jake and Cat to check out  A Greener Way,  Sustainable Living Field Day at the Ashhurst Domain. This initiative has been running for a few years now at various locations.  It’s an event to show-case alternative, greener ways of living.

Yacob in a Yurt.

We just had to check out the yurt.

“What’s a yurt?”, I hear you ask.

A yurt is  a traditional portable, felt-covered, wood lattice-framed dwelling structure used by the nomadic people of the central Asian steppes – so says Wikipedia.  This particular one came to New Zealand from Afghanistan in the 1960s.  It retains its original felted wool lining, the brightly coloured patterns still visible.  Inside the yurt we were cosily protected from the chilly easterly wind, and the sun beamed in through the smoke vent in the roof.  I asked the children to stand in the sun.  Cat’s position meant that the light was catching her in the eye, causing a major case of the squints.  Jake managed to get it right.

I really like the deep black around him, and the play of shadow across his shirt.

Yacob in a Yurt
Exif
F-stop                 f/6.3
Exp time           1/500 sec
ISO speed         ISO-200
Focal length   50mm
 
 
3 responses to “Week14 – Inside a Yurt

  1. Hi Lisa,
    I’m Italian and I’m learning English… I love NZ
    I’d like to visit your amazing country.. maybe a day..
    take care, Luigi

    • Hi Luigi. Thanks for visiting my blog. My husband and I visited Italy in 2009 – we spent a few days in the Lake Garda – Verona area. You have a beautiful country. I hope you make it down here to visit NZ one day.
      Cheers, Lisa

  2. My family all the time say that I am wasting my time here at web,
    except I know I am getting knowledge all the time by reading such nice articles or reviews.

Let me know what you think!

