Week 44 – Fireworks Night


29 Oct – 4 Nov ’11

Every year the Ashhurst Fire Brigade holds a family night of fun and fireworks for  Guy Fawkes Night.  Surprisingly, in all the years we’ve been with the Brigade there has only ever been one call-out for a Guy-Fawkes-related incident, thanks to the sensible citizens of Ashhurst and the Pohangina Valley.

Sparklers and Bangers

I took the 50mm with me, knowing that the light was going to be very low and the max aperture of my zoom lens wasn’t going to cut it.  The low light also meant that the auto-focus was struggling.  I found that I was hitting the shutter and nothing was happening more often than not.   I did manage to get a  few shots.  The little tots are so adorable, and the firework light is lovely.

Blake with his sparkler

 F-stop                  f/1.8
Exposure time      1/125sec 
ISO speed            ISO-800

Blake’s commentary on the whole night – “Wow… Bang!… more!!”

Fireworks

Zavier enjoying his sparkler

 F-stop                  f/1.8
Exposure time      1/125sec 
ISO speed            ISO-800

Zavier is lit from the light spilling through the adjacent training room window, and a little by his sparkler.

All these shots were very noisy, I’ve had to noise-reduce them rather a lot, which has taken away the sharpness.  Still cute shots, I hope their Mums like them. 🙂

Jasmine having a good time

 F-stop                  f/1.8
Exposure time      1/125sec 
ISO speed            ISO-800

Moving fast, Jasmine almost moved out of the frame before I got the shot, and she’s really not in focus.  I know the rule “Have your subject looking in to the frame” has been broken, but I think this picture has a sense of movement and fun that describes the night.

Fireman and fireworks

In safe hands

 F-stop                  f/2.2
Exposure time      1/160sec 
ISO speed            ISO-1000

 We always have a fireman with all the safety gear to run the show.

Fireworks and church

Fire and brimstone

 F-stop                  f/2.2
Exposure time      1/160sec 
ISO speed            ISO-1000

I just managed to catch a ghost of the church in the background, lit by the fireworks.

Fireworks display

The spectators watch from a safe distance

F-stop                  f/2.2
Exposure time      1/160sec 
ISO speed            ISO-1000

Something I did learn from the night – fireworks light is very unpredictable.  It’s pretty much ‘click and hope’ that an explosion is occurring at that moment.  I had lots of BLACK to delete.  Thank goodness for digital.


Let me know what you think!

